Finalists Announced for Dr. Robert W. Jackson Medal of Distinction

ParaSport Ontario is in the final stages of preparing for the 2010 Concert for Inclusion.  Now ParaSport Ontario’s signature fundraiser, the event will include a welcome reception and silent auction, four top Toronto performers, live auction and special presentations, including the Dr. Robert W. Jackson Medal of Distinction.

After reviewing an impressive list of nominees for the Dr. Robert W. Jackson Medal of Distinction, the selection committee has announced the three finalists are Patrick Jarvis, Vicki Keith and Barbara Montemurro.  Each finalist has left (and continues to leave) an indelible mark on the Paralympic/ParaSport movement in Ontario and beyond.

Patrick Jarvis

A former Paralympian, Mr. Jarvis moved into team management when he retired from competition.  However, his greatest impact was made with the Canadian Paralympic Committee where he presided over Canada’s best ever finishes at the Paralympic Summer and Winter Games as well as expanded the role of the organization from Games to Movement based.  Mr. Jarvis presently sits on the International Paralympic Committee and was recently awarded the Order of Canada.

Vicki Keith

Ms. Keith is the most successful marathon swimmer in the history of the sport.  She created the Kingston Y Penguins Aquatic Club that focuses on the needs of children with physical disabilities and their able bodied siblings.  In addition, she is the founder of the Y Knot Abilities programs created to provide opportunities for children to see beyond their disabilities.  She also pushed to have swimmers with physical disabilities compete in able-bodied meets.  As a coach, her athletes have qualified for Provincial and National swim competitions.  She is a member of the Order of Canada.

Barbara Montemurro

After answering a newspaper ad looking for volunteers for the Toronto Olympiad for the Physically Disabled, Ms. Montemurro has been active in the parasport world since 1974.  A Member of the Ontario Wheelchair Sports Association, she has held the role of President since 1991 and the role of VP Marketing and Communications for the Canadian Wheelchair Sports Association board since 1994.  Ms. Montemurro is a founding member of the Sport Alliance of Ontario and Sport 4 Ontario.

The winner will be announced at the 2010 Concert for Inclusion on October 7, 2010 at Glenn Gould Studio in Toronto.

Help support ParaSport Ontario and athletes with a physical disability by attending what promises to be a great evening at the Glenn Gould Studio, 250 Front Street West, Toronto.

For more information or to purchase tickets, please click this link, e-mail or call 416-426-7187.