2012 Para Table Tennis Canadian Championships Results

Jul 17

7/17/2012  RssIcon

Great Results at the 2012 PTT Canadian Championships

    The PTT Canadian Championships were held this year in Ottawa the weekend of July 7-8 at the Table Tennis Canada National Training Centre. Athletes from Nova Scotia, Quebec, Ontario and British Columbia participated this year. John Macpherson, Para TT National Team Head Coach welcomed everyone on behalf of TTC and the Para TT Committee and expressed his excitement at seeing all the new players.

Although the number of Provinces/Territories was down slightly from previous years the number of participants jumped significantly with thirteen players, including Youth and Class 11 athletes, attending for the first time and performing very well. Currently 90% of active Para TT athletes are from Central and Eastern Canada but we are working actively to expand the player base across the country.

One of the new developmental initiatives involves development of nation wide activity for Class 11 eligible athletes. Table Tennis is one of only three sports currently offering Paralympic level competition for persons with an intellectual disability and TTC has been working to develop competition level athletes. One such athlete competed at this year’s championships and did extremely well winning two matches to lay claim as the premier Class 11 player in Canada.

Singles Results

Wheelchair Classes 1-2 Event (QUAD)

In round robin action players finished in the following order (the top two players are new):

Harmandep Singh (ON)          GOLD

            Umair Pirzada (ON)                SILVER

            George Simpson (ON)            BRONZE

Wheelchair Classes 3-5 Event

Top seeds Muhammad Mudassar (ON) and Barry Butler (ON) made it out of the round robin stage to join Asad Murtaza (ON) and promising newcomer Mohsin Ali Watoo (ON) in the SF. Murtaza displayed dramatic improvement in his physical and mental game, surprisingly mounting a solid come back effort to upset top seed Mudassar 3-2 (10, -7, -8, 8, 9). Butler overcame a very slow start in his match against a very consistent Watoo eventually winning 3-1 (10, -5, 3, 3).  Another all Ontario medal grab was on.

In the Championship Final Butler defeated an enterprising Murtaza 3-0 (10, 4, 6) to retain his national singles title while Mudassar won the Bronze Medal Match 3-0 (4, 7,7) over Watoo who finished fourth.

Standing Open Class Youth

This event was held for the first time and provided lots of excitement as closely matched players produced a three-way tie for first place with identical 2-1 records. Congratulations to all!

Tie breaker implementation results:    Shawn Cesar (ON)                  GOLD

                                                            Mike Drozdowski (NS)          SILVER

                                                            Curtis Carton (NS)                  BRONZE

Standing Classes 6-8

The top two players from each rr group advanced to the QF. In the QF George Crhak (ON) defeated Raghu Kondatasula (ON) 3-0 (6, 10, 6) and Stephanie Chan (BC) won over Francis Osei-Bonsu (ON) 3-0 (8, 4, 8) while Real Poudrier (QC) and Masoud Mojtahed (BC) drew byes. In the SF Poudrier overcame a first game loss to defeat a very game Crhak 3-1 (-7, 6, 8, 3) while Mojtahed took a 3-1 victory over Chan (8, 6, -12, 9).

The Championship Match saw Mojtahed take a decisive 3-0 victory over Poudrier (6, 6, 4) to seize the title while Chan earned the Bronze with a 3-0 win over Crhak.

Standing Classes 9-10

Last year’s Standing Open Champion proved to be the class of the field and went undefeated in rr play.

            Syed Asad Hussain (ON)       GOLD

            Martin Pelletier (QC)              SILVER

            Xiaoyang Zhu (ON)                BRONZE

Team Results

Wheelchair Team Open Class Event

In SF play defending Champions Murtaza/Mudassar (ON) swept Watto/Singh/Pirzada (ON) 3-0 to advance to the Finals while Butler/Simpson (ON) defeated Dunn/Lohnes (NS) 3-0 to set up another all Ontario Championship Match.

In the Finals Murtaza/Mudassar successfully defended their National Team Championship title with a closely fought 3-2 win over Butler/Simpson. In a battle of new players Watto/Singh/Pirzada took the Bronze 3-1 over a very game Nova Scotia team that had to settle for fourth place this year.

Standing Team Open Class Event

QF action saw Kondatasula/Hussain (ON) take a 3-1 win over Osei-Bonzu/Crhak (ON) to move on to the SF where they met top seeds Pelletier/Poudrier and lost 2-3. The key to their loss was an exciting doubles match where Pelletier/Poudrier eked out a very narrow 3-2 result (7, -8, 10, -8, 10). In the other SF match Mojtahed/Macpherson (BC/NS) took a clean 3-0 victory over Chan/Zhu (BC/ON).

Tied at 2-2 in matches the Championship Title came down to the final highly pressurized singles match eventually won by Poudrier 3-1 resulting in a 3-2 Pelletier/Poudrier victory.  In the Bronze Medal match Kondatasula/Hussain earned a 3-1 result over Chan/Zhu.

Special Thank you

Many thanks to: TTC staffers Mireille, Steve and YanBin for their efforts to keep things running smoothly; Referee Norman Tang and his umpire and ball retriever crew for their vital and tireless efforts; the hospitality crew for the preparation and serving of those deliciously healthy and hardy lunches; Michael of the SpinBin for the enjoyable Saturday night gathering of the pong people; and last but certainly not least, George Crhak, Standing Gold Medallist at the Paralympics in Toronto in 1976 and Bronze Medallist in Arnhem, 1980 who returned to Para Table Tennis this year in his seventies after an absence of thirty-two years. Well, not quite the last: many thanks and welcome to the many new players that came out this year to compete at the 2012 Para Table Tennis Canadian Championships!